Regulations & Policy Updates

Watch the new regulation webinars at:
http://ocfs.ny.gov/main/childcare/newregsvideo.asp

Get your own copy of the new regulations.
Go to: http://ocfs.ny.gov/main/legal/Regulatory/final/
Click on:
413– For the Child Day Care Definitions, Enforcement and Hearings
416– For Group Family Day Care Regulations
471– For Family Day Care Regulations

Or call the OCFS forms warehouse phone number at: (518) 473-0971
_____________________________________________________________

NYSOCFS (Office of Children and Families) is the regulating body.
www.ocfs.state.ny.us

You may also contact our office Monday - Friday, 8:30AM - 4:30PM if you have questions at registrar@childcarecounciloc.org or (845)294-4012 x236.

Each modality has its own set of regulations:
Day Care Centers (DCC)—418-1.14
School Age Child Care (SACC) —414.14
Group Family Child Care (GFCC)—416.14
Family Child Care (FCC)—417.14

(Also, there is a form of child care - Legally Exempt child care - 415.)

Q & A:

Q- What is the difference between Family Child Care and Group Family Child Care?
A- Family Child Care and Group Family Child Care are provided in a residence.
Family Child Care (FCC) Providers are reviewed by the Child Care Council of Orange County. The FCC Provider is registered and can take up to eight children.
Group Family Child Care (GFCC) Providers are reviewed and licensed by the Spring Valley Regional Office. They may take up to 12 - 16 children. An assistant is required.

Q-What is Legally-exempt family child care?
A- 1. child care for one or two children provided outside the child's own home in a residence by a caregiver who is at least 18 years of age, or who is less than 18 years of age and meets the requirements for the employment of minors as set forth in article 4 of the New York State Labor Law, and who is chosen and whose services are monitored by the child's caretaker; or
2. child care for more than two children provided outside the child's own home in a residence by a caregiver who is at least 18 years of age, or who is less than 18 years of age and meets the requirements for the employment of minors as set forth in article 4 of the New York State Labor Law, who provides such care for less than three hours per day and who is chosen and whose services are monitored by the child's caretaker; or
3. child care provided by a relative within the third degree of consanguinity of the parent(s) or step-parent(s) of the child or children except where such relative is a person legally responsible for, or the caretaker relative of, such child or children. Relatives within the third degree of consanguinity of the parent(s) or step-parent(s) of the child include: the grandparents of the child; the great-grandparents of the child; the great-great-grandparents of the child; the aunts and uncles of the child, including the spouses of the aunts and uncles; the great-aunts and great-uncles of the child, including the spouses of the great-aunts and great-uncles; the siblings of the child; and the first cousins of the child, including the spouses of the first cousins.