MENU
Child and Childcare Provider Playing with Toys

Nursery School or Preschool may be VOLUNTARILY registered for 5 years with the NYS Education Dept. to educate a group or groups of six or more children less than seven years of age. These programs are not subject to licensing by the New York State Office of Children and Family Services because they are in operation for less than three hours per day per child.

Universal Pre-Kindergarten is a free program to children 4 years old. Contact your individual school district for more information.

Early/Head Start Child Care is a program for three and four year old children from low income families that help shape the attitudes and health habits of preschoolers.

The Agri-Business Development Centers are for children of migrant workers and the fees are income based.

Camps/Summer Programs are regulated by the New York State Department of Health and are not required to be registered or licensed with OCFS. They are normally geared towards school-age children, offering a variety of activities. Camps and Summer Programs can be associated with a center, or can be an independent facility.

Informal: NYS Office of Children and Family Services defines “informal child care” in NYCRR 415.1 as follows:
“Informal child care includes legally-exempt family child care and legally-exempt in-home child care...
Legally-exempt family child care means:
(i) child care for one or two children provided outside the child's own home in a residence by a caregiver who is at least 18 years of age, or who is less than 18 years of age and meets the requirements for the employment of minors as set forth in article 4 of the New York State Labor Law, and who is chosen and whose services are monitored by the child's caretaker; or
(ii) child care for more than two children provided outside the child's own home in a residence by a caregiver who is at least 18 years of age, or who is less than 18 years of age and meets the requirements for the employment of minors as set forth in article 4 of the New York State Labor Law, who provides such care for less than three hours per day and who is chosen and whose services are monitored by the child's caretaker; or
(iii) child care provided by a relative within the third degree of consanguinity of the parent(s) or step-parent(s) of the child or children except where such relative is a person legally responsible for, or the caretaker relative of, such child or children. Relatives within the third degree of consanguinity of the parent(s) or step-parent(s) of the child include: the grandparents of the child; the great-grandparents of the child; the great-great-grandparents of the child; the aunts and uncles of the child, including the spouses of the aunts and uncles; the great-aunts and great-uncles of the child, including the spouses of the great-aunts and great-uncles; the siblings of the child; and the first cousins of the child, including the spouses of the first cousins.”